Helicopters Magazine

Features Business Operations Commercial
HAI Announces Recipients of 2008 “Salute To Excellence” Awards

October 26, 2007  By Corrie

Oct. 26, 2007, Alexandria, VA  – The Helicopter Association International (HAI) is proud to announce its “Salute to Excellence” award winners.

Oct. 26, 2007, Alexandria, VA.,  – The Helicopter Association International (HAI) is proud to announce its “Salute to Excellence” award winners. The 2008 “Salute to Excellence” awards program, now in its 47th year, which recognizes outstanding achievement performed by individuals or companies in the international helicopter community. Winners will be recognized during the HAI “Salute to Excellence” banquet and awards ceremony to be held on Monday, February 25, 2008, at HELI-EXPO 2008 in Houston, Texas.


AVIATION MAINTENANCE TECHNICIAN AWARD: Milton K. Geltz; Maintenance Director, Metro Aviation Inc., Shreveport, Louisiana

AVIATION REPAIR SPECIALIST AWARD: Gary Royer; Avionics Shop Supervisor, Canadian Helicopters Limited, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada


IGOR I. SIKORSKY AWARD FOR HUMANITARIAN SERVICE: County of Los Angeles Fire Department, Air Operations Section, Pacoima, California

THE JOE MASHMAN SAFETY AWARD: Captain Paul Smith; Pilot, Helicopters Incorporated, on assignment WABC TV, Linden, New Jersey

OUTSTANDING CERTIFIED FLIGHT INSTRUCTOR AWARD: Barry Lloyd; FAA Designated Pilot Examiner and FAA Accident Prevention Counselor, Sacramento, California

AGUSTA COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD: Richard Dutson, Chief Helicopter Pilot, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, West Trenton, New Jersey

EUROCOPTER GOLDEN HOUR AWARD: United States Coast Guard HH-65C Crew 6548; San Francisco, California

EXCELLENCE IN COMMUNICATIONS AWARD: Barry Desfor; Managing Director, HeliValue$, Inc., Wauconda, Illinois

HELICOPTER MAINTENANCE AWARD: Phillip G. Difiore; President, Rotorcraft Support Inc., Van Nuys, California

MD HELICOPTERS LAW ENFORCEMENT AWARD: Daniel B. Scwarzbach; President, Airborne Law Enforcement Association, Houston, Texas

LAWRENCE D. BELL MEMORIAL AWARD: Steve and Nancy Sullivan; Founders, Aris Helicopters, Saratoga, California

ROBERT E. TRIMBLE AWARD: Anthony Reece; Hi Line Helicopters, Inc., Pilot/Owner, Darrington, Washington

PILOT OF THE YEAR AWARD: Franz Levitskiy; Pilot/Instructor, UTair Aviation (Russia), Surgut, Russia

For information about the 2008 “Salute to Excellence” Awards banquet and ceremony, contact HAI’s Communications Department by telephone: 703-683-4646, fax: 703-683-4745, or email: rotor@rotor.com.


Stories continue below

Print this page