Helicopters Magazine

Nominations open for Elsie MacGill Northern Lights Awards

January 27, 2014  By Carey Fredericks

Jan. 27, 2014, Toronto - The Northern Lights Award Foundation is now accepting nominations for its 6th Annual Awards Program. Each year, the national not-for-profit foundation honours outstanding Canadian women who have made a significant contribution to Aviation or Aerospace, and who continue to lay the groundwork for other women to enter or excel in these industries.

The Foundation's award program, the Elsie MacGill Northern Lights (EMNL) Awards, is named after aviation pioneer and human rights advocate Elsie Gregory MacGill, the world's first female aircraft designer. MacGill graduated from the University of Toronto's electrical engineering program in 1927 and later became pivotal in the design and production of the Hawker Hurricane in Canada during the Second World War. During her career, MacGill was appointed to the Canadian Royal Commission on the Status of Women, and was made an Officer of the Order of Canada.
Since its inception in 2009, the Award Program has seen an overwhelmingly positive response from the industry, and as a result, has grown to six separate award categories. In 2013, The Foundation announced several key initiatives including the development of a Scholarship Program sponsored by Seneca College, and was pleased to add Bombardier Aerospace to its list of title sponsors.
The 2013 NLAF winners were:
Flight Operations/Maintenance Award – Lt.-Col Maryse Carmichael, Retired Commander of the Canadian Forces Snowbirds
Government Award – Catherine (Kate) Fletcher,Transport Canada's Regional Director of Civil Aviation for the Prairie and Northern Region
Business Award – Marcia Strang, Coordinator of Emergency Programs, Vancouver Airport Authority
Education Award – Elizabeth Wieben, former Director of Flight Operations, Confederation College
Pioneer Award – Felicity McKendry, one of Canada's first female flying instructors
Rising Star Award – Natalie Panek, Flight Support for the International Space Station at MDA SpaceMissions.
The 2014 winners will be selected by a judging panel comprised of industry experts and veterans, and will be honoured at a Gala Awards Dinner and Ceremony in Toronto in September (date to be announced).
To nominate an outstanding woman, or for more information about the Northern Lights Award Foundation and sponsorship opportunities, visit:www.northernlightsaward.ca.
Nomination deadline is March 31, 2014.


Stories continue below

Print this page