Helicopters Magazine

Rockwell Collins name Orthberg CEO

August 8, 2013  By Carey Fredericks

Aug. 8, 2013, Cedar Rapids, Ia. - Rockwell Collins has announced that its board of directors elected company president Kelly Ortberg, 53, to the additional role of CEO, effective immediately.

He has also been appointed to the company's Board of Directors and to
the Board's Executive Committee. Ortberg succeeds Clay Jones, 64, who
retired as CEO after nearly 34 years with the company. Jones will
continue as non-executive chairman.

Ortberg, who joined Rockwell
Collins in 1987, became president in September 2012. Previously, he
served as executive vice president and chief operating officer of
Government Systems, where he helped win major program contracts,
including avionics business on the KC-46A, KC-10 and the Embraer KC-390.

also served as executive vice president and chief operating officer of
Commercial Systems, overseeing development programs for the Boeing 787,
Airbus A350 and Bombardier CSeries. Additionally, Ortberg led the launch
of the company's Pro Line Fusion® integrated avionics system. It has
been selected for more than 15 aircraft platforms since its introduction
in 2007.

"We're fortunate to have such a proven and qualified
successor as CEO," said Anthony Carbone, the company's lead independent
director. "Kelly's strong record of success, passion to win and
extensive knowledge of our customers and business make him the ideal
choice to lead Rockwell Collins into the future."


Carbone added,
"As we welcome Kelly to his new role, we owe a great deal of gratitude
and admiration to Clay for his tireless efforts working on behalf of our
customers, shareholders and employees. He is a widely recognized and
deeply respected industry leader, and we look forward to his continued
guidance as board chairman."

A native of Dubuque, Iowa, Ortberg
holds a Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical engineering from the
University of Iowa. He serves on the university's Engineering Advisory
Board, the board of directors for FIRST® (For Inspiration and
Recognition of Science and Technology), and the board of directors for
the Hawkeye Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America. He previously
served as a director of Bucyrus International.


Stories continue below

Print this page